Interlock 2

I’m tweaking the fit of Ottobre Design Style  #1, 2/2007.  I increased the shoulder slope 1/4″ accompanied by lowering the armscye 1/4″.  I used self fabric for neckline ribbing and for binding the armscyes.

Still have some issues. Including that the back and bust look too tight while at the same time, the underarm is not snug to my  body.

I think I’m going to concentrate on correcting the shoulder slope.  I’m using up my odd interlock cuts, mostly remnants from T shirt projects. They make fine camisoles for the winter and yes if this is the only thing clean on a hot day I will wear it in public.

I probably should have known 1/4″ was not enough. It simply hasn’t been enough with Connie Crawford, Loes Hinse and Burda patterns. Why did I think it would be enough for Otto?

I fired up the embroidery machine using an old free Bernina design.  I think this was supposed to be cut work.

I copied the single design and mirrored it making the much larger design above. Not until I broke 2 needles did I remember that someone had said they thought it contained an error. I finished the embroidery by skipping the last color and completing a couple of small satin stitch areas on the Dream.

2 responses to “Interlock 2

  1. I was looking at your top, and was thinking that one of the things I do for my tops because they have a gap in the arm hole area like yours. About where the notch is I make a small dart 1/2 inch total so about 1/4 each side. I only go in about an inch in length. I then lower my arm hole the same amount. I don’t know it that is the CORRECT way to do it but it works for me. I seem to have a dip in the high bust area. If my top has a sleeve I make a small dart in it also. Do you ever watch the free videos from silhouette patterns. You can go to her web site or watch them on you tube.

    • Veronica
      I think sometimes a garment begs for the armhole dart. It’s absolutely correct if that’s what you do.

      Love Peggy Sagers. Sometimes it takes a while for me to understand her but more and more I’m adapting her advice to my sewing.

      thank you

      bev